The Best Darn Tootin Pizza in the DMV

Pizza, it is one of those foods you may love with a passion, or one you feel you can live without. If you are like me, you are somewhere in the middle. I am one of those who did not think twice about pizza, until I was told I could no longer partake of its bready cheesy goodness. Then I simply craved it. That is the saying, “you never know what you have till it’s gone.”

The good news is that we are not living in the GF dark ages anymore. A whirlwind of new products is ever rising from the dark. Restaurants are recognizing our right to eat in places other than our homes. Freedom is ours!

For that purpose I am here to report my own personal favorite pizzas currently available to the gluten-challenged crowd.

#3  Mellow Mushroom   cartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizza(3 pies)
1030 Elden St
Herndon, VA 20170
Phone: (703) 707-9300
Website: http://mellowmushroom.com/

Mellow Mushroom on Urbanspoon

Very tasty pie, delicious crust. Awesome sauce. The downside is the staff are not as knowledgeable, so it can take a while to get your order taken. Like most places, they have certain toppings that are considered GF, stick with those. I am not sure I trust the staff to know what is GF and not GF in their ingredients. Another downside is they do not deliver.

#2 Ledos  cartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizza (4 pies)
Several locations in the DMV. Click here to locate your Ledos.
Location of my review:
254 Hunters Woods Plaza
Reston, Virginia, 20191
(703) 758-9800
Website: http://ledopizza.com

Ledo Pizza on Urbanspoon

Ledos was a standard watering hole before I found out about the celiac. When I heard they had started making GF crust, I just could not resist. All I can say is do not try to resist. Their GF pizza is fantabulous. Still, they do not deliver.

#1 California Pizza Kitchen & zPizza  cartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizzacartoon_pizza (5 pies)
Multiple locations for both restaurants.
http://www.cpk.com/
http://zpizza.com/

CPK

California Pizza Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Zpizza

Zpizza on Urbanspoon

I cannot say enough wonderful things about CPK and zPizza. The deliciousness actually made my eyes roll back in my head. Crust is thin and crunchy, and so good I actually ate the leftover crust, which I NEVER do. CPK also has separate handling space and equipment for their GF menu items. Still, alas, no delivery. zPizza delivers, but there is nothing near me. If you are fortunate enough to have this pizza shrine within delivery distance, you can be assured you have my never ending envy you lucky bastard. ;-)

Leave a Reply

